News

Practice Updates - Wednesday 17th July from 12 the practice will be closed for staff training. If you need a GP and cannot wait for the practice to re-open please ring NHS 111

STAFF TRAINING DATES 2019-20

The following dates is when the practice is closed for staff training:

Wednesday 8th May Closed from 15:00 - 18:00

Wednesday 15th May 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 19th June 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 17th July 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 18th September 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 16th October 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 4th December 2019 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 12th February 2020 closed from 12noon - 18:00

Wednesday 18th March 2020 closed from 12noon - 18:00

PRACTICE CLOSURE DATES 2019-20

The practice will be closed on the following dates:

Monday 6th May 2019 (Bank Holiday)

Monday 27th May 2019 (Bank Holiday)

Monday 26th August 2019 (Bank Holiday)

Wednesday 25th December 2019 (Christmas Day)

Thursday 26th December 2019 (Boxing Day)

Wednesday 1st January 2020 (New Years Day)

 

Urgent care services in Sunderland are changing

Patients in Sunderland will be able to access NHS urgent care services more simply and closer to home after 1 August 2019.

From 1 August 2019, the best way to access NHS urgent care services will be to contact your GP practice or local pharmacy, or call NHS 111 when they are closed.

 Urgent care is for minor injuries or illnesses which need medical attention the same day, but are not serious enough for the Emergency Department.

 From 1 August 2019, these will be the main urgent care services for patients in Sunderland:

  • GP practices – collectively providing extra appointments in evenings, weekends and bank holidays. These can be booked through your GP practice, at one of five locations around Sunderland, Washington and Houghton.
  • Pharmacists - local pharmacists are highly trained and provide free, confidential advice on minor illnesses from sickness and diarrhoea to hay fever.
  • Urgent care centres at Pallion or Bunny Hill health centres, open 10am-10pm Monday to Friday; 8am-10pm weekends and bank holidays, no appointment needed.
  • NHS 111 - if you have an urgent need which is not life-threatening, NHS 111 health advisors are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year to help you get the right medical attention for your needs.

To find out more, please visit http://www.sunderlandccg.nhs.uk/.